I am currently an economist working independently, doing a bit of consulting, and trying to pull together a book on central banking.

Until August 2017 I was Professor of Economics at the University of Birmingham, teaching MSc International Macro, and researching on optimal monetary policy and business cycles.  Before that I was Reader in Economics at Bristol for 2 years.  And before that I worked at the Bank of England for 20 years in the directorate devoted to monetary policy.  At the BoE I had a variety of roles, including managing the forecast, leading the analysis on the Bank’s Quantitative Easing team, and, latterly, heading a team doing research into applied macro, and delivering advice on monetary strategy and monetary frameworks. I left as a Senior Advisor at Head of Division level.

I have been an occasional consultant at the Norges Bank; for Oxford Economics;  and for the GLG expert network group, working with a range of clients in the asset management industry, on topics like Scoxit, Brexit and the challenges facing the BoE and the Fed.  I also recently undertook with other experts a review of the macro forecasting and models set up at the new Scottish Fiscal Commission.

If you are looking for someone to help with a project that overlaps with my expertise, drop me a line via Twitter.

I would also consider delivering courses or technical assistance on macro, monetary macro, empirical macro, monetary framework design and implementation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.